It’s Hard To Say Goodbye

I still can’t believe that Angie Miller was the person to go home on last weeks American Idol. I knew this is always how it would be though, and secretly I was hoping she wouldn’t win and would make it to third or second place. Those two spots have produced more popular artists then the actual winning spot has for the entirety of Idol. This also makes sure that when Angie goes into the studio to record her album she will have more freedom and fewer constraints that tend to hurt the actual winners music. Angie will get to make the music that SHE wants to make, not what the STUDIO wants her to make.

Candice Glover has an awesome voice, and while I know this is a singing competition, you need someone you can market well. History has proven on Idol repeatedly that America doesn’t usually support the winners that they have voted to that honour. I think Candice has the edge over Kree at the moment, but that doesn’t mean she will go on to become a huge recording artist. I could be wrong, and I actually hope that I am, but I figure she will end up doing something like Broadway, which is awesome. Candice has an awesome voice, but I doubt I would support the record she makes. Everyone compares her to Adele, but there lies the problem… We already have Adele. Do we really need another songstress that has slightly upbeat songs that can wail to her heart is content and so good at doing it?

Kree Harrison on the other hand has been poised to actually win the top spot since the beginning of the season. Who didn’t love this everyday average girl who could belt out her lyrics? You didn’t think by looking at her that she was going to be able to sing that well. We also didn’t know who this girl was when she was shown to us cause we never saw her audition. I don’t think we saw Candice’s audition either. I feel like her popularity has fallen in the last few weeks against Candice and I cannot figure out why? Is it cause she has pretty much said she is going into country music? No, I don’t think that is right cause Idol has produced a lot of country singers in the last few years.

I was really pulling for Angie to win it all, because she was the most-talented all the way around contestant on the show. Not only can she sing really well, she also is a very talented songwriter. Something neither of the other two final contestants have shown us. Who pulls out their own original music at Hollywood week? Then who could have called that the song would be amazingly beautiful and stuns the judges? No one. It was a first in Idol history. Normally when someone pulls out an original song, you get ready for some good laughs. Not this time. I also feel like her original song “You Set Me Free” was also what plagued her. It was said many times by the judges that she couldn’t top the performance she gave on her own song. I would most certainly agree with this, but instead of being rewarded, she gets kicked-off the show. It’s okay though. As I stated above, she will have more freedom and will have an amazing album. She already has a single that will sell, sell, sell, and that I figure will overshadow the actual winners single.

My final words are to Angie herself. Don’t take getting kicked-off of Idol as a sign that you’re done and never gonna realize your dream. You are gonna have an awesome album, career, and life.  Apparently, you are going to get to do a duet with Adam Lambert and that is freaking awesome. Even if you didn’t win the show, you are the winner in my book and this years American Idol.

Take a listen to Angie Miller’s original song “You Set Me Free” down below. It is recorded from when she performed on the show, so you can hear Keith and Randy talking a bit. After you listen, please tell me what you think about it and what you think about Angie in the comments.

-JakeLX

Leave a Reply

