Va Va Voom- Nicki Minaj

Apparently, “Va Va Voom” was originally set to be the first single off of Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded, but was cast aside in favour of “Starships”. Personally, this is one of my favourite tracks from that album and I am happy that it was released as the lead single off of the re-release Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded The Re-Up. Even though the song talks about sexual acts and desires, the song comes across as possibly one of Nicki’s cleanest songs that she has ever done. This doesn’t really matter that much to me, but I feel like that is what helped “Starships” perform really well.

The track is one that you can easily be dancing to at the club or listening to in the car. I have read that the song could be classified as an electronic dance music song, but I disagree. I don’t really hear a hint of dubstep like some have talked about it having. I think I would leave this in with the general pop music category if I had to choose. The song is currently at #22 on the Billboard Hot 100, and the track was just released towards the end of October, so I think it will still prove successful for Nicki.

The music video is probably one of my favourite Nicki videos and maybe that is because it has a story and point to it. It just isn’t Nicki barely dressed shaking her earthshaking ass and her big titties(who doesn’t mind those shaking about?) around the whole music video. Nicki apparently wasn’t happy with the music video once it was completed, but obviously released it in October along with the track to radio.

So, please tell me in the comments below your opinion of “Va Va Voom” and/or Nicki herself. Personally, I think the haters are always gonna hate on Nicki and her success. I say let them cause their hate only makes her successes that much sweeter for her and her fans.

RATING: 5/5

-JakeLX

Leave a Reply

