Diamonds- Rihanna

When Diamonds was released on September 27 I will admit I wasn’t a fan. Then on October 2 it was released to radio for airplay. I wasn’t thrilled or amused. I just couldn’t understand why such a slow song was released as a lead single for Rihanna’s new album Unapologetic. I will also admit that due to the slowness, I really never gave it a shot or listened to the lyrics.

Thanks to the radio, listen after listen had me falling in love with this song. Lyrically, vocally, and musically it is a beautiful. The song lyrically seems to fit many different things in Rihanna’s life. Could it fit her breaking free from her destructive relationships and finally finding happiness alone or with someone else? Could it be her finally just getting to a place in her life that she is finally truly really happy? Who knows what Rihanna saw the song as, maybe just a beautiful song that she really wanted to sing. The fact is the song was written by Sia Furler. The song was never written specifically for Rihanna, but was played for her and apparently she liked it.

Vocally, Rihanna comes off stunning. While no one has ever said Rihanna has a bad singing voice, not all of her songs in the past have shown what her pipes are capable of doing. This song allows for Rihanna to really spotlight her song as her vocals intertwine with the music to create a stunning song.

Musically, the song is catchy. Like I said above it isn’t in the way of Rihanna’s vocals and is the background or platform for Rihanna’s vocals to stand on and be the spotlight of the song. I really am a fan of how the music builds from the beginning to the chorus and then back down again to build back up to the chorus once again. Despite the songs slower pace, it really does have a driving beat that keeps the song alive and moving to keep the listener engaged.

Overall, I think sometimes not liking a song right off of release can be a good thing. I feel like I am somewhat closer to this now and can enjoy it more because I had to piece together what makes this terrific song amazing and now one of my favourite Rihanna songs. I say to anyone out there that is like I was and hasn’t given this song a true chance, give it a chance. You might just fall in love with it as I did.

I’d like to know what your thoughts are on Diamonds or even Rihanna as an artist. Please leave comments below in the comment section.

Rating: 5/5

-JakeLX

 

Leave a Reply

